ECMP 455 · Networked Professional Learning

“I Imagine a World where we Smile when we have Low Batteries”

 “Can we Auto-Correct Humanity?

 

I was fortunate enough to come across this video in ECMP 355. This video has had such a large affect on me that I thought it was necessary to share it in ECMP 455. The video shows a different perspective on technology. Do you agree with it? What are your thoughts? Well, I will tell you what mine are.

Can we Auto-Correct Humanity?” takes a different perspective on technology that I believe an older generation feels. I do agree with what they are trying to portray? Yes, I believe that technology  has a tendency to control your life if it is not being moderated properly.

If you think about what he says, “Did you know the average person spends 4 years of their life looking down at a cell-phone?”

4 Years = 48 Months = 1461 Days = 35064 Hours

So what can you do in 4 years? In 4 years, you can…

  1. Get another degree in school
  2. Watch your child go from a baby to an adult
  3. Travel around the world
  4. Go to the moon and back

… or it is the average time a persons spends looking at a cell phone. This does not include the hours you watch your television or the time you spend on a computer. This is strictly looking at a cellphone.

Now, I want to clarify with you that I am not against technology. I am not against using technology in the classroom. I am simply agreeing that technology needs to be used in moderation! Technology should not replace face-to-face conversation, but it should help aid those who aren’t able to have face-to-face conversation (Skype). Technology should not replace a teacher in the classroom, but it can help aid with interactive lesson, reinforcing concepts, etc.

What are some tips to help moderate technology in your life? Lori Deschene has many valuable ones in her article, “7 Tips to Keep Technology from Taking Over Your Life,” that are listed below.

  1. Make deliberate choices about time.
  2. Box out time to put technology away.
  3. Remember: the most precious thing you can give someone is your presence.
  4. Be mindful of your reasons for connecting to technology.
  5. Get the most important things done and let go of the rest.
  6. Make minimal commitments to yourself for a clear mental space.
  7. Track your day’s presence in battery life.

For more information about these point, please make sure to go to the article itself. Lori has many valuable ideas on each of these tips.

You have heard my view on “Can we Auto-Correct Humanity?” What is your opinion? How do you moderate technology in your life?

6 thoughts on ““I Imagine a World where we Smile when we have Low Batteries”

  1. Thanks so much Shalayne for posting this video! I remember seeing it a couple years ago and how great of a conversation starter it was. As our society has become so ingrained with technology in our daily lives I think that it is crucial to our classrooms when possible. On the other hand, I also believe we, as a society, have become so obsessive with technology (i.e. smartphones, tablets, etc) we have lost the ability to connect with one another in a natural way. I agree with you that we need to use technology with moderation. I believe that technology should be a tool to for teachers to enhance their lessons, and not be the replacement for teachers.

    Like

    1. I remembered how great of a conversation starter it was a couple years back, so I was hoping it would create some discussion again this year. It definitely did. There are so many opportunities to use technology in a lesson! A teacher can only go as far as their imagination lets them. Not to mention it helps engage students!

      Like

  2. Hi Shaylene! This is the first time I have seen this video so thank you for sharing. I agree completely that technology should be used in moderation. I think that with all the use of social media it has actually made people less social. Often when people are walking from place to place their face is buried in their phone. There is countless of times I have seen someone I know walk right on by because they never took the time to look up. What I think would be really neat is if our phones also told us about usage. Sure we always look at how much battery we have left, but, what if our phones also told us the screen time. If my phone told me how much screen time I actually used during the day maybe I would feel more inclined to put it away.
    Anyways, huge insight! Thank you

    Like

    1. Hi All,
      I really appreciate this post and the discussion that came out of it. I agree that we need to be aware of how much time we spend looking at a screen. I have to consciously take a break once an hour so that my neck, shoulders, and back do not stiffen up. Usually when I spend long periods of time looking at a screen I am completing homework. Although I find it very helpful that we are able to access most class resources online, it can come with some serious physical side effects. Are there more long-term cons, both social and physical, that we (as a society) fail to consider when talking about technology? Are we asking our students to spend too much time using technology to complete assignments and/or readings? I would be interested to hear your thoughts.

      Like

      1. Tori,

        I find myself looking at a screen the entire day.
        1) my phone
        2) my work computer
        3) my laptop when I am completing homework
        If you think about it, that is way more than 4 years! I believe a long term con will be that people will no longer be able to interact with others. Personally, it was very difficult to even talk on the phone to a person when I was younger. I was way more comfortable sending texts until I got a part-time job as a receptionist. I do not believe that there is an overuse of technology involving students assignments and/or readings. It is abused in other ways. For example, it was interesting to see today at my field placement that when the students were eating lunch, they were also watching a movie. To me, I think that should be a privilege they gain when their actions have been exceptionally good. It should be a type of reward. Lunch time, is when students are allowed to interact with each other. If the students are engaged in a movie and not using this time to interact, does this create more chatter during instructional time?

        Like

    2. Celina,

      I am happy that I got to introduce you to this video because he states many powerful messages. I am guilty from walking with my head in my phone, but I feel ridiculous when I almost run into someone because of that. You should check if there is an app that measures the amount of screen time you have on your phone. There is pretty much an app for everything (i.e.there is one that tells you when you need to drink water)! I am sure there is something out there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

