Reflective Professional Development Response Journal

January 24th-30th

I viewed lesson planning as the main focus in our classes throughout this week. The structure of lessons and how to create them was explained in detail. Below is a list of what the structure of a lesson plan should include.

  1. Objective
  2. Task
  3. Hook
  4. Summary
  5. Time Estimation
  6. Instructional Resources

The hands on attention in the lectures were completely on the objective, task and hook. With the task we were asked to extend on a question. To me, I feel like one question involving the Pythagorean Theorem is not enough to reinforce the concept of find when Pythagorean Theorem can be used. Would reinforcing the concept be a lesson plan on it’s own, or would it be more suitable for me to include more questions regarding the same objective in one lesson plan? I also feel like students will complete the question to quick if there is only one, which means there will be an abundance of time to fill for the duration of the class. With my inexperience regarding this topic of lesson planning, I found it was very helpful to have it thoroughly explained. What concerns me is, how is a unit plan constructed?

Mathematical thinking was covered in the readings this week and briefly in the lectures. From my understanding “Thinking Mathematically” by John Mason, Leone Burton and Kaye Stacey, describes the process you need to follow when interpreting a math problem. Specializing and generalizing are new terms to me. In a math context specializing means “choosing examples,” (Mason, Burton, Stacey, 2010) and generalizing means “detecting a pattern” (Mason, Burton, Stacey, 2010). Personally, I find it very difficult to use generalizing in math, but I find that it could be very valuable once I became better at it. This week we dipped a toe into mathematical thinking, but I believe that there is much more information regarding this topic that needs to be learnt.

Leave a Reply

