ECMP 455 · Networked Professional Learning

Chalky Bums OR SMART Boards? You Pick.

I believe that educational technology has a time and place in the classroom. Whether this is when I administer it, or student’s use their personal devices. It does not make a difference whether it is them, or me.

Should students be calling friends to talk in the middle of a lesson? No.

Should students be taking pictures of other students? No.

These are examples as to why individuals view technology in the classroom as a threat, or danger. When stories that involve these situations are shared on social media, it makes me understand as to why teachers and parents do not want technology to be used throughout the classroom. BUT there are many success stories of students and teacher using technology in the classroom. What would happen if SMART boards were never introduced? Teachers would STILL be walking around with hand prints of CHALK on their BUTTS. I view Educational Technology as being helpful, but I also understand why there is a fear associated when using it.

Personally, I do not have any strong fundamental principles for the use of technology, but I hope to learn some throughout ECMP 455. Do you have some? What are they?

My past experience with technology in the classroom was very limited. Throughout my high school and middle school years cellphones were not allowed in the school. This included in the hallways… classrooms… at break time.. lunchtime.. etc. If they were seen, they were taken away. A list of my technology that I have used as a student in a classroom is below:

  1. Computers
  2. SMART Board

Can you even see that list above? Probably not, it is VERY… VERY… VERY.. small.

You will find my top sources/tools that I use for learning about technology, or for my personal learning below. Make sure that you click on each one so you can be taken to the site 🙂

  1. Twitter
  2. Feedly
  3. Quizlet
  4. CHEGG

Please, feel free to let me know your top ones so one day I can add them to my list!

Leave a Reply

