Networked Professional Learning

Scratch; More like Scratch my Eyes OUT!

It may come with lack of experience, or limited knowledge on coding, but the blog assignment to “Code a short Scratch Project” was painfully difficult to master. I will admit that I worked on this project for a total of 4 hours, which resulted in a 20 second scene that had few details and looked like it was created by a 5-year-old. I believe that this site would be interesting to use if it there was a lengthy explanation on coding and how it worked. Although, it was very frustrating the Scratch Tips provided are very helpful. I could not figure out how to complete a simple action, even after reading the tips, so I had to resort to using YouTube videos to help guide me through the process.

What did I learn?

  • Playing around with the Scratch website, completing trial and error was not the way to go about learning how to use this tool. It only further frustrated me when I could not figure out how to use it. I needed guided instruction whether that be demonstrated in a YouTube video, or in person. Overtime, I was able to learn how to use the complete website. I went into this blind. The short scene that I completed holds some of the actions that the Scratch “Sprite” completes. By no means is it seen as being perfect, but it was a huge accomplishment for me to get it to move from one movement to the next. I know that there are games that can be created on this site that I have not even began to understand how to complete. There needs to be a lot of improvement on my part until I can be called a Scratch master.

What do I think about Scratch?

  • My first experience encountering Scratch was memorable and frustrating, but I believe if I were to use it more often, the first impression would fade into a better one. Scratch is unable to save onto my desktop, but I did not realize this the first time I created a motion picture. This resulted in me having to recreate it knowing that this time I had to share it/link it to my blog. My next encounter with Scratch I think that I will have all the quirks sorted out and ready to work.
  • With my personal experience set aside I think that Scratch is a great tool that can be used to a teachers advantage in the classroom. It is easy to incorporate into a lesson plan on coding and allows a visual to be seen from the codes that you put together.

Why do I think coding is important?

  •  Thinking like a computer is difficult in many ways, but interesting how everything has to be completed in a step by step process for it to understand the commands that you are coding. It is important to understand how it is carried out, and I believe that everyone should have some background knowledge on how it works. Coding is beneficial when you cannot get a computer to complete a task. If a person knows how a computer thinks, they can go into the coding and fix it manually.

Here you can view my Scratch Project. Can anyone else relate with my frustration? Do you can any resources that could provide me with more instruction on how to use Scratch?

6 thoughts on “Scratch; More like Scratch my Eyes OUT!

  1. I took a different approach to my animation, by using codes for different keys. So, he walks left and right using the left and right keys. I found this to be manageable as someone who knows nothing about coding. Maybe, this type of animating was easier to navigate than making him dance, because instead of one long sequence it’s a bunch of small ones. I don’t like reading instructions, so I used a trial and error method. Tutorials probably would have been helpful though 😛

    Like

  2. Try Looking at other projects on Scratch then click on the see inside button to look the their scripts. That way you can see what works for other people if you are trying to do something similar.

    Like

  3. First off, good job! I can totally relate! I found this project a little stressful. I took Paige’s tip on making the codes for different keys and it went alright! It is helpful to look at other people’s work, but it also makes me feel like I have a lot to learn in this area. Hahaha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

